Friday’s Book Excerpts

Happy Friday, readers!

Each week I share book excerpts with:

  • Book Beginnings on Fridays hosted by Rose City Reader, where bloggers share the first sentence or more of a current book, as well as any first impressions or initial thoughts they might have. 
  • The Friday 56 hosted by Freda’s Voice, where you grab a book and turn to page 56 (or 56% of an ebook), find one or more interesting sentences, and post them.

This week, I will be pulling excerpts from my most recent read: The Devil’s Half Mile by Paddy Hirsch.

51ji0otllhl-_sx327_bo1204203200_

Synopsis:

Fans of Caleb Carr, Erik Larsen, and Gangs of New York will love this riveting historical thriller debut, set in a 1799 New York City.

Seven years after a financial crisis nearly toppled America, traders chafe at government regulations, racial tensions are rising, and corrupt financiers make back-door deals with politicians… 1799 was a hell of a year.

Thanks to Alexander Hamilton, America recovered from the financial panic of 1792, but the young country is still finding its way. When a young lawyer returns to prove his father’s innocence, he exposes a massive financial fraud that the perpetrators are determined to keep secret at any cost. And reaching the highest levels, the looming crisis could topple the nation.


Book Beginning:

Justy Flanagan leaned on the gunwale of the Netherleigh and watched two big men square up to each other on the wharf below. They were like a pair of cart horses, one black, the other white, their fellows in a half circle behind them, grim looks on their faces.


The Friday 56:

The Devil’s half-mile. A narrow, cobbled corridor, flanked with tall, gray stone buildings that ran steeply downhill from Trinity Church to the East River wharves. It thronged with traffic. The sidewalks were crammed with people: messengers and clerks in their black coats; delivery boys in their shirt-sleeves; shoeshine men with their boxes; crossing sweeps with their brooms and shovels. The noise was deafening: men shouting extravagant greetings or colorful abuse; merchants calling out the cost of their wares. And everywhere, all the time, the clatter of iron on stone, like a thousand hammers, as carriages and jigs of all shapes and sizes hauled up and down the hill, disgorging well-heeled men who hurried into the grand-looking buildings.


What are you reading this weekend? Feel free to join in with lines from your current read!

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Friday’s Book Excerpts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s