WWW Wednesday: June 20th, 2018

WWW Wednesdays

This meme is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

To join in on WWW Wednesday, just answer these three questions and post the link to your responses on Sam’s blog and in the comments below.

My Wednesday post is just a bit late today – it’s after 2:00 AM here. 🙊 But my mom came into town for a surprise visit, so I’ve had a really busy, but really good, day (and evening/night!).


I am currently reading:

The Devil’s Half Mile by Paddy Hirsch

51ji0otllhl-_sx327_bo1204203200_

Fans of Caleb Carr, Erik Larsen, and Gangs of New York will love this riveting historical thriller debut, set in a 1799 New York City.

Seven years after a financial crisis nearly toppled America, traders chafe at government regulations, racial tensions are rising, and corrupt financiers make back-door deals with politicians… 1799 was a hell of a year.

Thanks to Alexander Hamilton, America recovered from the financial panic of 1792, but the young country is still finding its way. When a young lawyer returns to prove his father’s innocence, he exposes a massive financial fraud that the perpetrators are determined to keep secret at any cost. And reaching the highest levels, the looming crisis could topple the nation.

This is an ARC copy that came in the mail last week (although it was published May 22nd, so you can already pick up a copy for yourself!). I haven’t had much time to sit down and read it over the last couple days, so I’m barely a couple chapters in. But it sounds like such an awesome book! And it’s a mix of historical fiction, mystery, and thriller, so it’s right in line with my reading mood lately. I really think I’m going to love it.


I finished reading:

I haven’t read Mary Higgins Clark since I was a teenager, but someone gifted me several of her books and I decided to give her another try. I was surprised by how much I liked it! I also decided to reread some of Agatha Christie’s novels, since I’ve been in the mood for mystery and thriller books lately. You will probably be seeing some more of both authors mixed in alongside my regular reads over the next couple weeks.


What I’m reading next:

Before and Again by Barbara Delinsky

51sll0ww2pl-_sx328_bo1204203200_

Mackenzie Cooper took her eyes off the road for just a moment but the resulting collision was enough to rob her not only of her beloved daughter but ultimately of her marriage, family, and friends―and thanks to the nonstop media coverage, even her privacy. Now she lives in Vermont under the name Maggie Reid, in a small house with her cats and dog. She’s thankful for the new friends she’s made―though she can’t risk telling them too much. And she takes satisfaction in working as a makeup artist at the luxurious local spa, helping clients hide the visible outward signs of their weariness, illnesses, and injuries. Covering up scars is a skill she has mastered.

Her only goal is to stay under the radar and make it through her remaining probation. But she isn’t the only one in this peaceful town with secrets. When a friend’s teenage son is thrust into the national spotlight, accused of hacking a powerful man’s Twitter account, Maggie is torn between pulling away and protecting herself―or stepping into the glare to be at their side. As the stunning truth behind their case is slowly revealed, Maggie’s own carefully constructed story begins to unravel as well. She knows all too well that what we need from each other in this difficult world is comfort. But to provide it, sometimes we need to travel far outside our comfort zones.

This is an ARC that I received through NetGalley. It’s being published next week, so I really need to get it read and reviewed ASAP. Nothing like a little pressure, right? 🙂


That’s my WWW Wednesday for this week. What have YOU read this week?dorie

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s