WWW Wednesday: April 18th, 2018

WWW Wednesdays

This meme is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

To join in on WWW Wednesday, just answer these three questions and post the link to your responses on Sam’s blog and in the comments below.


I am currently reading:

A Sister In My House by Linda Olsson

51xlftok18l-_sx324_bo1204203200_
GoodReads Synopsis:

From the acclaimed author of Astrid & Veronika, a lyrical novel of two sisters bound together by a tragic moment from their past.

Maria and Emma have not seen each other since their mother’s funeral two years ago. But now, Emma has come to visit Maria at her house in Spain, an unsettling intrusion on Maria’s quiet and solitary life. Over six days in the seaside town, the sisters cautiously recount the years of their separate adult lives. Their walks through the quiet town and evening talks on the terrace reveal almost more than Maria can deal with, until finally, the sisters confront their unspeakable family history.

A Sister in My House is a compelling drama of grief and betrayal, but ultimately it is a story of hope and forgiveness.

I’m reading this book for free through Penguin’s First To Read program. So far, it has been a lovely read. It’s a bit of a slow burn – there’s not a lot happening in the storyline yet, but the author has a beautiful prose and I’m enjoying it.


I just finished reading:

Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate

51p7qgq0djl-_sx326_bo1204203200_

GoodReads Synopsis:

Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize that the truth is much darker. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together—in a world of danger and uncertainty.

Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions—and compels her to take a journey through her family’s long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or redemption.

Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

This book has been high on my TBR list for a while now, so when I found a hardcover copy at my library’s book sale on Friday, I was on that like white on rice! I couldn’t wait to dig into it and started reading it the very next day. I was not disappointed; all of those glowing reviews are telling the truth. It is a very powerful book. The story is absolutely heart-breaking and tragic, but also incredibly well-written and poignant. This is a book that will be sticking with me for a long time. I gave it 5/5 stars and highly recommend it.


What I’m reading next:

White Oleander by Janet Fitch

51qe5e8fmtl-_sx325_bo1204203200_

GoodReads Synopsis:

Everywhere hailed as a novel of rare beauty and power, White Oleander tells the unforgettable story of Ingrid, a brilliant poet imprisoned for murder, and her daughter, Astrid, whose odyssey through a series of Los Angeles foster homes–each its own universe, with its own laws, its own dangers, its own hard lessons to be learned–becomes a redeeming and surprising journey of self-discovery.

This is another book I found at my library’s book sale on Friday and I’m very excited to read it. I’ve heard a lot of great things and can’t wait to see if it’s as good as they say.


That’s all for my WWW Wednesday for this week. What have YOU read this week?

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday: April 18th, 2018

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s