Book Review: My Little Eye

Title: My Little Eye
Author: Stephanie Marland
Genre: Thriller-Crime
Release Date: April 5, 2018
Pages: 352
Buy This Book: Amazon/Audible (affiliate link)

My Little Eye cover

Book Blurb:

A rocket-paced thriller for fans of Mark Billingham and Luther. Can a group of true crime addicts take on a struggling police force to catch a serial killer?
The thriller with the twists you’ll never see coming! Perfect for fans of The Girl in the Ice and The Missing Ones. Can a group of true crime addicts take on the police to catch a serial killer?

KISS THE GIRLS
A young woman is found dead in her bedroom surrounded by rose petals – the latest victim of ‘The Lover’. Struggling under the weight of an internal investigation, DI Dominic Bell is no closer to discovering the identity of the killer and time is running out.

AND MAKE THEM DIE…
As the murders escalate, Clementine Starke joins an online true crime group determined to take justice in their own hands – to catch the killer before the police. Hiding a dark secret, she takes greater risks to find new evidence and infiltrate the group.

As Starke and Bell get closer to cracking the case neither of them realise they’re being watched. The killer is closer to them than they think, and he has his next victim – Clementine – firmly in his sights.

My Thoughts:

I absolutely love watching true crime documentaries and reading about serial killers. I can’t explain it; I just have a sort of morbid fascination with the subject. Of course, I know I’m not alone in this. I have met many other people both online and in-person who say the same thing. This book is about a group of people just like myself: self-proclaimed true crime addicts and armchair detectives. Only the characters in this story take their fascination much further than I ever have when they take matters into their own hands and try to solve a real-life murder case before the police department.

My Little Eye is an exciting and fast-paced story, with lots of unexpected plot twists and red herrings thrown in to keep you guessing up until the very end. I’m sure at some point you’ll think you know “whodunnit” (I know I did!), but chances are, you’re wrong.  I love the way social media is worked in to the storyline. All of the extra added details, like realistic Twitter handles and hashtags, help to make this story even more believable and modern. The characters are also very interesting and intriguing. There’s Clementine, a secretive recluse with a mysterious past, who joined the true crime group with a hidden agenda. Then there’s Dominic Bell, the lead detective assigned to The Lover’s case. Haunted by a flawed past, he is working to solve both the murder case and his own personal issues before they catch up to him. The chemistry with this unlikely pairing was absolutely brilliant and I’m looking forward to seeing more of them when the next book in this series comes out.

Thank you to Trapeze Books and NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book for free in exchange for my honest review.

Rating: 4/5 stars

star redstar redstar redstar redstar clear

Author Bio:

16964141

 

Stephanie Marland is a pen name used by Steph Broadribb, author of the Lori Anderson action thriller series for Orenda Books. 

Steph Broadribb was born in Birmingham and grew up in Buckinghamshire. Most of her working life has been spent between the UK and USA. As her alter ego – Crime Thriller Girl – she indulges her love of all things crime fiction by blogging at http://www.crimethrillergirl.com

Steph is an alumni of the MA in Creative Writing (Crime Fiction) at City University London, and she trained as a bounty hunter in California. She lives in Buckinghamshire surrounded by horses, cows and chickens.

 

Advertisements