WWW Wednesday: March 14, 2018

It has been a busy, busy week and I haven’t gotten much reading done. But it’s already time for WWW Wednesday again!

WWW Wednesdays

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

To join in this meme, just answer these three questions and post the link to your responses on Sam’s blog and in the comments below.


I am currently reading:

The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman

9780552778473

GoodReads Synopsis:

After four harrowing years on the Western Front, Tom Sherbourne returns to Australia and takes a job as the lighthouse keeper on Janus Rock, nearly half a day’s journey from the coast. To this isolated island, where the supply boat comes once a season, Tom brings a young, bold, and loving wife, Isabel. Years later, after two miscarriages and one stillbirth, the grieving Isabel hears a baby’s cries on the wind. A boat has washed up onshore carrying a dead man and a living baby. Tom, who keeps meticulous records and whose moral principles have withstood a horrific war, wants to report the man and infant immediately. But Isabel insists the baby is a “gift from God,” and against Tom’s judgment, they claim her as their own and name her Lucy. When she is two, Tom and Isabel return to the mainland and are reminded that there are other people in the world. Their choice has devastated one of them.

I missed my chance to read Eliza and Her Monsters before my library loan ended, so I decided to read this book instead. I actually stumbled across a secondhand copy of this book by chance at a local library sale. As a displaced Mainer and ocean-lover (I love all things nautical and lighthouse themed!), I was initially drawn to it for its beautiful cover, but then the synopsis on the back fully pulled me in. I am really enjoying what I’ve read of it so far.


I just finished reading:

My Little Eye by Stephanie Marland

9781409171973

GoodReads Synopsis:

A rocket-paced thriller for fans of Mark Billingham and Luther. Can a group of true crime addicts take on a struggling police force to catch a serial killer?
The thriller with the twists you’ll never see coming! Perfect for fans of The Girl in the Ice and The Missing Ones. Can a group of true crime addicts take on the police to catch a serial killer?

KISS THE GIRLS
A young woman is found dead in her bedroom surrounded by rose petals – the latest victim of ‘The Lover’. Struggling under the weight of an internal investigation, DI Dominic Bell is no closer to discovering the identity of the killer and time is running out.

AND MAKE THEM DIE…
As the murders escalate, Clementine Starke joins an online true crime group determined to take justice in their own hands – to catch the killer before the police. Hiding a dark secret, she takes greater risks to find new evidence and infiltrate the group.

As Starke and Bell get closer to cracking the case neither of them realise they’re being watched. The killer is closer to them than they think, and he has his next victim – Clementine – firmly in his sights.

I love watching true crime documentaries and reading about serial killers. I can’t explain it; I just have a sort of morbid fascination with the subject. Needless to say, I really enjoyed this book, which is about a group of true crime addicts that join forces and try to solve a real-life murder case before the police detectives.


What I’m reading next:

The Perfect Mother by Aimee Molloy

204392

GoodReads Synopsis:

Vanity Fair calls it one of the most anticipated books of the summer. Soon to be a major motion picture starring Scandal’s Kerry Washington.

An addictive psychological thriller about a group of women whose lives become unexpectedly connected when one of their newborns goes missing.

They call themselves the May Mothers—a collection of new moms who gave birth in the same month. Twice a week, with strollers in tow, they get together in Prospect Park, seeking refuge from the isolation of new motherhood; sharing the fears, joys, and anxieties of their new child-centered lives.

When the group’s members agree to meet for drinks at a hip local bar, they have in mind a casual evening of fun, a brief break from their daily routine. But on this sultry Fourth of July night during the hottest summer in Brooklyn’s history, something goes terrifyingly wrong: one of the babies is abducted from his crib. Winnie, a single mom, was reluctant to leave six-week-old Midas with a babysitter, but the May Mothers insisted that everything would be fine. Now Midas is missing, the police are asking disturbing questions, and Winnie’s very private life has become fodder for a ravenous media.

Though none of the other members in the group are close to the reserved Winnie, three of them will go to increasingly risky lengths to help her find her son. And as the police bungle the investigation and the media begin to scrutinize the mothers in the days that follow, damaging secrets are exposed, marriages are tested, and friendships are formed and fractured.

I won a review copy of this book in a GoodReads giveaway. I was so excited when I first heard about this book since I can so easily relate to the main characters in the story. When I was pregnant with my oldest son, I joined an online message forum just like they did and formed a close friendship with some of the other members (we called ourselves “The September ’07 Mommies”). Now over 11 years later, we’re still very close friends, talk on an almost daily basis, and have get-togethers as often as possible. I’m very excited to read this book and if I like it, I’m going to share it with them!


That’s all for my WWW Wednesday for this week. What have YOU read this week?

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday: March 14, 2018

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s