WWW Wednesday: March 7, 2018

Another week has passed and it’s time for WWW Wednesday.

WWW Wednesdays

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

To join in this meme, just answer these three questions and post the link to your responses on Sam’s blog and in the comments below.


I am currently reading:

My Little Eye by Stephanie Marland

9781409171973

GoodReads Synopsis:

A rocket-paced thriller for fans of Mark Billingham and Luther. Can a group of true crime addicts take on a struggling police force to catch a serial killer?
The thriller with the twists you’ll never see coming! Perfect for fans of The Girl in the Ice and The Missing Ones. Can a group of true crime addicts take on the police to catch a serial killer?

KISS THE GIRLS
A young woman is found dead in her bedroom surrounded by rose petals – the latest victim of ‘The Lover’. Struggling under the weight of an internal investigation, DI Dominic Bell is no closer to discovering the identity of the killer and time is running out.

AND MAKE THEM DIE…
As the murders escalate, Clementine Starke joins an online true crime group determined to take justice in their own hands – to catch the killer before the police. Hiding a dark secret, she takes greater risks to find new evidence and infiltrate the group.

As Starke and Bell get closer to cracking the case neither of them realise they’re being watched. The killer is closer to them than they think, and he has his next victim – Clementine – firmly in his sights.

This is an ARC I received from NetGalley. I’m only a few chapters into it so I can’t say much about it yet, but it’s really intriguing so far!


I just finished reading:

The Little French Bistro by Nina George

little french bistro
GoodReads Synopsis:

From the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop, an extraordinary novel about self-discovery and new beginnings.

Marianne is stuck in a loveless, unhappy marriage. After forty-one years, she has reached her limit, and one evening in Paris she decides to take action. Following a dramatic moment on the banks of the Seine, Marianne leaves her life behind and sets out for the coast of Brittany, also known as the end of the world.

Here she meets a cast of colorful and unforgettable locals who surprise her with their warm welcome, and the natural ease they all seem to have, taking pleasure in life s small moments. And, as the parts of herself she had long forgotten return to her in this new world, Marianne learns it s never too late to begin the search for what life should have been all along.

With all the buoyant charm that made The Little Paris Bookshop a beloved bestseller, The Little French Bistro is a tale of second chances and a delightful embrace of the joys of life in France.

I just finished reading this book this morning and it was such a wonderful book! It made me want to visit France, and specifically Brittany, so badly. And the author’s writing style is absolutely lovely – poetic and flowing, almost lyrical. I will be posting a full review on here once I get my thoughts together, so keep an eye out for that.


What I’m reading next:

Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

51gkt9arrll-_sx328_bo1204203200_

GoodReads Synopsis:

Her story is a phenomenon. Her life is a disaster.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, she’s LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves the online one, and she has no desire to try.

Then Wallace Warland, Monstrous Sea’s biggest fanfiction writer, transfers to her school. Wallace thinks Eliza is just another fan, and as he draws her out of her shell, she begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile.

But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

I’m a mood reader and I’m not feeling YA right now (I’m actually feeling drawn to historical fiction and crime thrillers for some reason). So if I’m being honest, this isn’t my top choice for my next read. However, I’ve been on the wait list for this book since December and my copy just became available. If I don’t read it before my library loan ends next week, I’ll end up at the bottom of a 2-3 month wait list again and I definitely don’t want that! Hopefully I’ll still like it, though, even if the timing’s not the best. I’ve had so many people recommend this book to me and the synopsis sounds pretty interesting.


So that’s my WWW Wednesday for this week. What have YOU read this week?

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday: March 7, 2018

    1. It really is a great book! I noticed it’s listed under “romance” on GoodReads and I don’t usually like romance novels (just my personal preference of course), but this book is absolutely enchanting! And it’s so much more than romance – it’s a tale of self-discovery, new beginnings, and finding your own place in the world. I highly recommend it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for that. I noticed that the author also has The Little Paris Bookshop. May have to check out both. 🙂 I’m pretty sure I heard about thats second one before.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s