WWW Wednesday: February 21, 2018

I’m finally digging myself out from underneath the fog of sickness that has hit our house over the last week, and just in time for WWW Wednesday!

WWW Wednesdays

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.
(formerly hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading)

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

To join in this meme, just answer these three questions and post the link to your responses on Sam’s blog and in the comments below.


I am currently reading:

How to Walk Away by Katherine Center

36249638

GoodReads Synopsis:

From the author of Happiness for Beginners comes an unforgettable love story about finding joy even in the darkest of circumstances. 

Margaret Jacobsen has a bright future ahead of her: a fiancé she adores, her dream job, and the promise of a picture-perfect life just around the corner. Then, suddenly, on what should have been one of the happiest days of her life, everything she worked for is taken away in one tumultuous moment .

In the hospital and forced to face the possibility that nothing will ever be the same again, Margaret must figure out how to move forward on her own terms while facing long-held family secrets, devastating heartbreak, and the idea that love might find her in the last place she would ever expect.

How to Walk Away is Katherine Center at her very best: an utterly charming, hopeful, and romantic novel that will capture reader’s hearts with every page.

I’m actually in between books right now, but I’m planning on starting this one tonight after my kids go to bed. It’s a little outside of my usual genres, and to be honest, I don’t even remember requesting this book, so I was really surprised when the ARC copy showed up in the mail. But it looks REALLY good and I’m excited to get started.


I just finished reading:

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

914dealdmcl
GoodReads Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

I was on a wait list at the library for this book for the better part of 5 months. Now that I’ve finally read it, I can say it was worth the wait! This was such a fun, light-hearted, and entertaining read. I’m definitely going to see the movie when it comes out this summer!


What I’m reading next:

My Little Eye by Stephanie Marland

9781409171973

GoodReads Synopsis:

A rocket-paced thriller for fans of Mark Billingham and Luther. Can a group of true crime addicts take on a struggling police force to catch a serial killer?
The thriller with the twists you’ll never see coming! Perfect for fans of The Girl in the Ice and The Missing Ones. Can a group of true crime addicts take on the police to catch a serial killer?

KISS THE GIRLS
A young woman is found dead in her bedroom surrounded by rose petals – the latest victim of ‘The Lover’. Struggling under the weight of an internal investigation, DI Dominic Bell is no closer to discovering the identity of the killer and time is running out.

AND MAKE THEM DIE…
As the murders escalate, Clementine Starke joins an online true crime group determined to take justice in their own hands – to catch the killer before the police. Hiding a dark secret, she takes greater risks to find new evidence and infiltrate the group.

As Starke and Bell get closer to cracking the case neither of them realise they’re being watched. The killer is closer to them than they think, and he has his next victim – Clementine – firmly in his sights.

Thanks in part to being sick and having sick kids, I’ve fallen behind on reading and reviewing my NetGalley ARC’s. I have several still waiting for feedback, plus I have even more requests pending, so I’m trying to stick with reading only ARC’s for a little while until I catch up.  This is one of the oldest ones that I’ve been sitting on, so I’m planning to read it next.


That’s my WWW Wednesday for this week. What have YOU read this week?

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s